Adding Life Skills

Lately Jon and I have been marathoning the hit SyFy show Face Off. If you’ve never seen it, it’s basically a reality show contest for special effects makeup artists. And let me tell you, these people are amazing! Season 1 runner-up Tate Steinsiek was here in San Juan working on House of Phobia.

Anyways, the point being that what they do is really awesome and I’d love to learn to do what they do. Even if I never get as good as them, I’d love to learn their skill set. I started researching where I could go to learn how to do this. I don’t want to change careers, I still love English and linguistics, but it’d be so cool to pick up another skill set, something that’s just fun and interesting. Something I could do while I’m teaching.

So, I talked to my mom, assuring her this wasn’t a career change, and asked her to talk to Mrs. Marietta, my old high school’s cosmetology teacher, to get in contact with me. You see, Mrs. Marietta used to work as a makeup artist in Hollywood before she became a teacher and she’s the only person I could talk to about this. I want to pick her brain, ask her questions, and see her portfolio.

As a side note, Jon’s interest is blacksmithing. He’s already found a good place to learn not far from my house in VA. We’re both going to pursue our interests after college while teaching, just to have an interesting life skill. Because our philosophy is that you should never stop learning. Even though we may never get anywhere with these skills, it’d be pretty kickass to have parents who can outfit you to look like an authentic uruk-hai, don’t you think?

katiesig

One comment

  1. I love that show! Those are some seriously creative and talented artists. I agree, that would be an amazing skill to pick up even if you only use it on halloween.

    -Katie
    smoulderingviolet.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

