Overwhelming

Today seems to be some sort of culmination for all the overwhelming stress I’ve been enduring. Not that it’s over, but it seems to have reached a critical point today.

I’ve been loaded down with work from professors who seem to think that theirs is the only class we take, giving me 4 revisions of a paper, a video project, a humanities project, one exam plus research paper, novel charts, and final exams all due within the next two weeks. How can one human being be responsible for that much work and be expected to remain sane?

And this morning, despite the wonderful day off Colegio has given us, I received the devastating news that one of my fellow counselors has passed away this morning. Gus was the sweetest person I’ve ever met and Nature Camp will not be the same without him. We’re all going to miss him so much. This is the first time I’ve had to deal with the passing of a friend and it’s hard. I didn’t want to believe it at first and it still really hasn’t sunk in that I won’t see his smiling face next summer or hear his awesome stories. I don’t know how we’re going to address it next year. When counselors leave, the kids notice and ask and it’s easy to say “Y’know, real life caught up to them”. But this time it’s different. No doubt we’ll talk about it and come up with a way to discuss it or avoid it. I’m going to miss his banjo playing and dancing.

I need chocolate. Chocolate keeps away dementors.

katiesig

Leave a Reply

