What to do with an English Degree?

That’s the question I’ve been asking myself for about a month now as the absolute panic of graduation sets in. I’m done with college in December and the idea of having to find a real, full-time job is terrifying. And with an English degree, what the hell do I do?

Surprisingly, there are more options than I thought. Copywriting, editing, technical writing, publicity, etc. I mean sure, I want to continue writing and the pipe dream is to become a best selling author, but let’s be real here. That’s probably never going to happen. So what do I do instead?

Well, lately I’ve been looking for jobs working with books, namely working in libraries or publishing houses. It’d be really nice and I love books anyways. Win-win! So that’s what I’m working on right now. Fingers crossed.

Other than that, classes. Lots and lots of time spent in this university, in the same building, on the same plush chairs in the lounge area waiting the average three hours between classes. Yeah, this semester is turning out to be a real thriller. </sarcasm>

I recently signed up for fiverr.com at the advice of a lovely redditor knowing that I’m strapped for cash. There I can actually sell my services as a creative writer and get paid, you guessed it, a fiver ($5 for you uncultured swine). If you’d like to request a story (you know you all do), you can find my profile here. Have fun.

If anyone out there just happening to read this works for some sort of book-related industry and totally wants to offer me a job, just leave a comment. A little optimism never hurt, right?

katiesig

Leave a Reply

